Home » Uncategorized » Center for Human and Civil Rights

Center for Human and Civil Rights

This morning we went to the Civil Rights Museum. It was beautiful, and personally, I learned so much more today than I’d expected. The footage of Martin Luther King Jr.’s speeches was stirring. Aside from being such a fundamentally good and pure human being, his way of speaking was also passionate and completely riveting. I cried as I read the stories of all the white, black, young, and old people who were martyrs for the cause of justice.

By the time I got to reading about Dr. King’s assassination, I had given up trying to stop the tears streaming down my face. However, I am entirely grateful to have had this opportunity. Never have I learned about the civil rights movement in such depth, and I feel that it has strengthened my belief in equality and my feelings of connection to all of humanity.

-Sarah

Leave a Reply

